Screenshot 2015-11-17 16.25.07
In an announcement on Facebook today, CEO Mark Zuckerberg said that the company will bring ‘Free Basics’ Internet services through to 17 African countries. The move is in partnership with telco Airtel Africa. The countries that will get Free Basics are Burkina Faso,Chad, Gabon, Madagascar, Niger, Nigeria, Republic of the Congo, Sierra Leone and Uganda. Currently, already serves the African nations of Zambia, Tanzania, Kenya, Ghana, Malawi, Senegal and South Africa. Zuckerberg also mentioned the company’s satellite deal for sub-Saharan Africa, which will begin in 2016. The Free Basics platform, which was rebranded in September, offers a handful of apps…

This story continues at The Next Web
Source: The Next Web


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here